Options

Solar Generator

Hello Everyone.     I am just learning about these “solar generators” (power packs) such as Bluetti and Jackery.   I am wondering if I can use one of these to charge my battery when shore power is not available.    I am thinking I could plug my 30 amp cord into the power pack using a 15 amp adapter and charge my battery.    I would do this to avoid using my noisy gas/propane generator.    Does anyone know if this would work to charge my battery or would the solar generator just act as an external power source and just power what ever happens to be running in the trailer at the time?     I know these units are expensive, but I would be willing to spend the money if it can extend my boondocking time without having to use a gas/propane generator.    THANKS!
2019 Jeep Cherokee pulling a 2018 T@b 400.
Victoria, British Columbia.

Comments

• Options
    ChrisFixChrisFix Member Posts: 725
    edited August 2021
    @DanL
    If you connect the 'solar generator' inverter outlet(s) to your T@B's shore power, then it will be delivering 120V AC power to the T@B, which would enable running everything in your camper...and that includes the battery charger in the wire center of the T@B (the WFCO panel).
    The battery charger is automatic, so if needed, it would begin to recharge the T@B's batteries in this configuration.  However, it's not a very efficient way to recharge the T@B's battery.
    And heavy loads like a microwave, electric Alde settings, and air conditioning might not work due to the size of the power pack's inverter - but also will exhaust the battery pretty quickly.
    After two years of looking and considering...finally the proud owner of a 2021 T@B 400 Boondock!
    2023 Honda Ridgeline RTL-E with Redarc Trailer Brake Controller
  • Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,642