Options

Battery Discharges Quickly

Hello Fellow Campers.

I am new to camping and I don’t know a lot about batteries, but I feel like my battery is discharging too quickly.    I am currently on a camping trip and following is what I observed last night......

6:50 pm - 11.91v - 41% - I know I should not let the battery go below 50%, but I can’t seem to keep up with the charging.

7:00 pm - started charging with generator at 29.1 Amp, 373 watts.

8:00 pm - stopped charging and battery read 12.47v or 87%.

9:20 pm - battery read 12.23v or 63%.    I did this reading because I understand from previous discussions that the battery will read higher than actual right after a charge.

9:00 am - read battery at 11.94v or 44%.   

So the battery discharged from 12.23v to 11.94v overnight.     All I had running overnight was the fridge at a setting of 2.5, water pump briefly to brush teeth, bathroom light briefly, and any parasitic drain.  I feel like the battery is discharging too quickly.

Does this seem normal based on other’s experiences?    Am I just expecting too much from my battery?

I am using a Victron BMV-712 battery monitor to do the above readings.
I have a Tab 400 with the 2 x 6v batteries.

Thanks!
Dan.

2019 Jeep Cherokee pulling a 2018 T@b 400.
Victoria, British Columbia.

Comments

• Options
    BaylissBayliss Member Posts: 1,299
    @DanL, I do not have a T@B 400 (I have a 320S with a three-way fridge), but if your refrigerator can operate on propane, use that instead of the battery.  You can run it on electricity when camped at a campground with hook-ups.  The refrigerator will discharge the battery pretty fast, but I would expect that it would have depleted a lot more power from the battery if the refrigerator was the culprit.
    2019 T@B 320 S Boondock Lite2007 Toyota Tundra 4x4
    (Alde: 3020; Refrig: Isotherm Cruise 65 Eleg; Battery: BB 100Ah LiFePo4; Solar: Renogy 100Ah Suitcase; Victron BMV-712; Pwr Cntr: PD-4135KW2B; EMS: PI-HW30C)